Welcome to our new website! All old content can still be found by clicking on the Archived Website link.

The story

Bruce Neal was the son of Bob and Jan Neal who were very active endurance riders and members of ACTERA during the 1980s.

The Neals had an Arab stud near Canberra, Wybalena Lodge, that bred some successful endurance horses. The whole family, particularly Jan, were active and successful endurance riders.

Bruce rode as a junior but never got to realise his full potential for endurance riding. He died from cancer at an early age, leaving a wife and two small children.

Jan and Bob decided to fund the Bruce Neal Trophy in memory of their son, to recognise the horsemanship skills of young local riders.

The trophy 

The Bruce Neal trophy is a perpetual trophy awarded each year to a worthy junior rider at the National Capital Brookvale ride. It is awarded on the basis of horsemanship demonstrated during the ride, as judged by the ride committee and head vet.

The trophy has been specially designed to incorporate a buckle of the kind used by ACTERA when Bruce was riding.

2021Ride not held
2020Ride not held
2019BrookvaleTegan AshbyYinbilliko Shaka Zulu
2018BrookvaleLevi RobinsonKarumba Beamish
2017BrookvaleCelia HodgsonBlake’s Heaven Carousel
2016Ride not held
2015No 80km ride
2014BrookvaleLevi RobinsonKarumba Beamish
2013BrookvaleCybele CoddingtonWanstead Abracadabra
2012BrookvaleOlivia de GruchyBlake’s Heaven Ventura
2011BrookvaleMaddison WadeYinbilliko Shaka Zulu
2010KambahOlivia de GruchyJupiter Mikena
2009BrookvaleMaddison WadeTrigger
2008Equestrian ParkJeremy BanwellLac-la-Biche Talique
2007No ride (equine influenza)
2006Equestrian ParkTalea Hasko-StewartBlake’s Heaven Ventura
2005Trophy not awarded
2004BrookvaleAmanda McDonaldBlake’s Heaven Romany
2003No ride (bushfires)
2002BrookvaleCatherine SirrBlake’s Heaven Ventura
2001BrookvaleZoe LockeWealdbarns Mardi
2000BrookvaleRochelle KnihinickiTuldar Ronnie